Paul, Barnabas and Timothy

Everyone needs a Paul, a Barnabas and a Timothy in their lives.  Pastor John from Summit Church spoke on this last night at Elevate.   Let me explain.

We’ll start with Paul.  Paul is a person in your life who can mentor you and help guide you in your walk, your Yoda if you will.  They are someone who is spiritually more mature than you and most likely older.  They pour into you, and challenge you to grow.

Next is Barnabas.  He is a companion that walks alongside you.  He can see the potential in you and pushes you to reach that potential.  He encourages you.  You can have several Barnabas’, in fact its probably advisable.  These are close friends who can say anything to you,  possible accountability partners.

And last is Timothy.  Timothy is someone who you pour into.  You are their Paul.   You share with them what God has been showing you in your walk.  You are there for them anytime they need you.  You’re willing to drop whatever your doing to help them.   You guide them, encourage them, challenge them, and call them out on things.

I recently aquired a Timothy in my life.  My roomate Phil asked me to be his Paul last night at Elevate and I felt God leading me to, so I did.   Its going to challenge the crap out of me.  If I’m goin to be sharing with someone then I have to make sure I’m in the word, that I’m studying and praying.  So I challenge you, If you don’t have a Paul, go out and ask somone.  They’re in your life already.  Pray that God would make it clear to you who they are.  And then ask them, don’t wait on them to come to you.  Who are some Paul’s or Timothy’s or Barnabas’ in your life?  How do they help you and what advice would you give them?

~ by Chris McGill on February 20, 2009.

Leave a comment